I decided to pay homage to my roots today .  Michigan, a.k.a., The Mitten . I grew up in the suburbs of Detroit— I lived 1/2 of my childhood in Canton and 1/2 in Plymouth. During college, I lived in good ol’ Ypsi and went to Eastern and then headed to Wayne State in Detroit for grad school.

A lot of who Dan and I are has to do with being raised in Michigan and I think we both turned out pretty good. :) We both spent a ton of time up north and in Irish Hills and some of our best memories are from our days there. We have lived in Seattle for 3 1/2 years now, but that doesn’t mean that we don’t still call Michigan home.

I got the idea for this because of a pin my dear friend Julie got me a pin that says “Mitten Made”. I wear it proudly on my coat, by the way. I didn’t have a model to wear my clothes, so you are stuck with me. 

p.s. I can't find my Red Wings t-shirt and, sadly, I have no Pistons attire. Please don't hate! Actually, a lot of the parts of Michigan that are important to me aren't represented here...so this is just a sampling :)


The first photo is the pin that Julie gave me. I have a small (okay, large) obsession with succulents, so that's why I photographed it like this. 
GO LIONS! (I'm watching the first playoff game as I do this)
Oh, how I wish I had one of these! I have spent countless weekends "up north" with friends and family and I cherish those times. 
From my days as a Detroit Derby Girl... 
The next two photos were taken in Irish Hills at our cottage on Silver Lake. My best childhood memories are from there and sometimes I long to be in those carefree days filled with reptiles, sunshine, walking with the older kids, building sand castles, Michigan vs. Ohio soccer games, our pontoon, the big red raft (seen in first photo) and bonfires. The first photo was taken in 1983 and is of me (right) and Amy Zieroff at the Silver Lawn beach. 
Here is a group shot of some of the Silver Lawn dads. My dad is in the white shirt with black lettering. I LOVE this photo!!! I'm assuming it was taken around 1980 based on the amazing outfits...
Thought I'd make Sunny represent, too.
Here is a photo of part of Detroit that Dan took. This is hanging in our kitchen.
The Tigers had a great season. In fact, 2010 was an awesome year for Detroit sports!! Going to Tigers games both as a kids and as an adult are also some super fun memories :) 
Melissa painted this for us as our wedding gift (www.wagnerpaintings.com). Look in the background at the Michigan map and Detroit newspaper! Love it.
Like I said, this is just a small sampling. Maybe in the future I'll get more stuff together and add to my Mitten tribute!



Leave a Reply.